My name’s Erika AKA Prairie Mommy. I chose the name because, well, I live on the prairies, or more specifically, in a small town in Manitoba.

I’ve been putting off writing an about page on this blog because I’m not sure how much I want to share. I decided to give you guys the entire rundown on my life so you can better see my perspective.

First, the easy part. I’m a mom of 5 wonderful kids. They’re 11, 9, 6, and 4 year old twins. Those kids are my whole world. I had my oldest when I was just 17 (I’m 29 now) and don’t know anything else.

Which is what makes this next part so difficult. In early 2017 my ex and I split up. After many difficult times (which I won’t get into publicly) I ended up leaving in July of 2017. I agreed to shared custody thinking it was for the best and, probably more importantly, the only way I felt I could get out of that situation. I hate it. But I know it’s something many families deal with so I try to stay strong.

So basically I get my kids only half the time. I went from a full time, 100% on duty to this situation and it’s been rough on all of us. Two years later it’s still hard.

Now, some more about me

In 2014 I came out as transgender to my (ex) husband. I waited until having my twins in 2015 before pursing it any further and from spring of 2016 to spring of 2019 I lived as male. When I separated from my ex husband, though, I really started to question this. Second thoughts and regrets kept pushing their way in.

So I pushed them out thinking it was being I wasn’t “done” the transition.

Finally, early this year, I finally pulled the plug after wanting to for awhile. There was a lot of soul searching and spiritual healing involved. I gave womanhood a try once again. And guess what? I missed it. A lot. My kids did too, it turned out. It was great to have mom back again.

I’m so much happier.

Unfortunately I left myself permanent damaged from the transition. I have hair growth from the hormones where I shouldn’t, especially on my face. I’ll need laser removal to get rid of it. I also had “top surgery” done which removed my breasts, something I deeply regret.

There’s no going back, only forward. That’s partially why I created this blog – so I have an outlet to be myself. To find the “self” that was missing.

I have a new partner

So as you may have noticed from this blog I’m with someone new. We bought a wonderful house together just over a year ago and he’s been the most amazing step dad to my kids. I’m still working on my divorce to get finished up and then we hope to get married.

I seriously can’t say enough good things about this guy. He loves taking care of me and enjoys me being at home. Speaking of…

I work from home

I’ve so blessed to have the best of both worlds. I get to be home when my kids are here and I also work from home on my own business. It really is the best of both worlds. What’s nice is I set my schedule so I don’t have to work so much when the kids are home.

I also believe that this is the best place for me. Working outside the home causes me a lot of anxiety, especially being away from my kids any more than I have to. I miss them dearly when they’re not around. My partner completely supports this.

I’m not always perfect

As a mom of 5 and twins sometimes people think that I have it all figured out. I really don’t! I’m working on having a more natural lifestyle and turning our country home into kind of a semi-urban homestead. We’re not allowed to have animals but I can garden!

I love making things from scratch and living a more simple, traditional lifestyle. I’m also looking to make more friends so feel free to hit me up on Instagram.

Anyway, thanks for listening to my story.